

The 2019 Awards presentation

21 December 2020



Institute of Physics Singapore

The 2019 Awards

recognizing outstanding contributions to the physics landscape in Singapore through research, education, and outreach at all levels



The 2019 Awards Committee



Christian Kurtsiefer NUS-CQT



Shaffique Adam YALE-NUS



Koh Wee Shing A*STAR-IHPC



Dario Poletti SUTD



Rajdeep Singh Rawat NIE-NTU



Cesare Soci NTU



Crescendas Medal and Prize for Outstanding Physics Teacher (Secondary School) 2019



Mr. Tan Hoe Teck
School of Science and Technology

For his dedication to physics teaching, and his continuous efforts to engage students beyond the classroom through project-based experiential learning, such as domestic electrical circuits, microcontrollers, satellite communication systems, and the design of a student's planetarium for the teaching of astronomy.



Crescendas Medal and Prize for Outstanding Engineering Physics Teacher (Poly/ITE) 2019



Dr. Sim Lay May Republic Polytechnic

For her outstanding contributions as an engineering physics educator, particularly her leadership in the development of physics and applied physics teaching modules as well as industry related projects, such as non-destructive testing of aerospace components and the development of e-scooter wheelchairs.



Crescendas Medal and Prize for Outstanding Applied Physics Researcher (Polytechnic) 2019



Mr. Hong Ling Tim
Republic Polytechnic

For his leadership in the development of applied physics R&D opportunities for engineering students, and the engagement of industrial partners in projects such as the **SMART Engineering Technology Centre for** industry 4.0, urban sustainability and healthcare, or the Republic Polytechnic & Texas Instruments joint laboratory for low power wireless applications.



Crescendas Medal and Prize for Outstanding Physics Teacher (Junior College) 2019



For his passion and dedication to physics education, and the development of an innovative, enquiry-based, problem-based and team-based teaching curriculum built on data and research.

Dr. Erkan Polatdemir
Hwa Chong Institution



Cadi Scientific Medal and Prize for The Public Awareness of Physics 2019



Assoc. Prof. Lee Choon Keat, Paul National Institute of Education

For his leadership and dedication in organization of the Singapore Physics Olympiad and the Singapore Junior Physics Olympiad for the last 5 years, and for mentoring and leading Singapore's team for International Physics Youth Tournament and Asian/International Physics Olympiad on numerous occasion for last two decades.



IPS Nanotechnology Physics Medal 2019



Assoc. Prof. Joel Yang
Singapore University of
Technology and Design

For developing unique 2D and 3D nanoscale printing techniques and making creative use of nanostructures to tackle fundamental issues in plasmonics and nanophotonics, and to develop practical applications like structural colors for anticounterfeiting or artwork reproduction at the nanoscale.



IPS World Scientific Award 2019



Dr. Arseniy Kuznetsov
Institute of Materials Research
and Engineering, A*STAR



Prof. Zhang Yong Wei Institute of High Performance Computing, A*STAR

For their internationally recognized contributions to applied physics in the domains of nanophotonics and advanced materials design, bridging the gap between fundamental studies of the mechanical, thermal, electronic and optical properties of materials and use-inspired applications.



Institute of Physics Singapore President's Award 2019



Prof. Berge Englert
Centre for Quantum Technologies and
National University of Singapore

For making distinctive theoretical contributions to the foundations, interpretation, and applications of quantum mechanics. Both an accomplished researcher and a committed teacher and mentor, he made significant contributions to fundamental science and to the training of the next generation of physicists in Singapore.